A perfect job search

Unlike the Lump and other folks on this earth, I am weary and sceptical – about the benefits of social media. Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and related media without which the world is unable to turn these days, are simply not on my priority or to-do-list.

A long time ago, I made an exception for LinkedIn. Despite warnings about security, fake accounts and other issues, I joined. Various agencies, present and former colleagues, friends and acquaintances, all stressed one simply needed a LinkedIn account. Without such an account, one simply did not exist.

Though sceptical and wary, especially after working in IT for decades, I joined. That was well before that hack which was first hushed up, but which effects still rumble on. Former colleagues had their accounts taken over. They described how fake applications and false CVS sent off to various important companies ensured careers were nearly broken. Not to mention all those doubles and doubles of doubles, now pretending to be them.

Though my account was on the list of possibly affected ones, I did not delete it. Binning remains a rather drastic act. I clung to the illusion LinkedIn might still have a few positive features, like networking and connecting.

I kind of hung on to this illusion – till a recent message. LinkedIn promised a much improved feature for job searches. After reading the promo, I decided to try out this highly improved tool. Especially, as this ultimate job search feature was offered for free for an extremely limited period.

As required, I typed in my search terms. The result the query came up with, was beyond my wildest expectations – and worse than any nightmares. I did not blink twice. I blinked a full minute.

Instead of jobs at museums, art galleries and related cultural venues the world over, up popped:

“Wanted: veterinarian surgeon”.

That was it.
This was the moment I gave up on LinkedIn.

veterinarian-surgeon-dr-polOkay, software is only as good as its creators. Programmers the world over are unaware I love animals – but faint when I see blood. So unlike the LinkedIn perfect job search tool, I am fully aware I am totally unsuitable to assist the incredible Dr. Pol.

After staring long and hard at the search result…
After checking my search terms more than thrice …
I decided never to bother with LinkedIn again.

How it managed to connect museums, art galleries, culture to veterinarian surgeon, I simply did not want to know. It never landed me any projects. These days, there are plenty other ways available to network and connect with companies and venues and people, the world over – and receive notifications of the right projects.

Veterinarian surgeon – indeed! With a culture and heritage background – really?
Delete!

Troy Hunt’s check if your LinkedIn account might be affected

Leave a Reply

